In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “First Sight.”

I can’t remember the first time that I ever read a full sentence. Since two years of age I have been able to read. My mind doesn’t throw up many memories prior to age five so I guess words, literature, have just always been there in my living memory. Reading opened up a whole new world for me as a child; helping me to escape from the real world I inhabited, but didn’t much enjoy due to various reasons. Never really able to express thoughts, feelings or ideas vocally, writing enabled me to make sense of the world as I saw it, and see it still.

I fell in love with people whom had lived, and died, hundreds of years before I was even a twinkle in my Mothers eye. Writers such as Dickens, Keats and Hardy awakened the love for storytelling within me. I had never known such passion for something. Writing, stories, poems kick started my souls journey through life. They are there for me when no-one else is, or when I am not able to let anyone into my world.

My saving grace then, now and forever.

